LABOR LAW                                    

WAGE INFORMATION

  • Unpaid Overtime or Wages

  • Employement Discrimination

  • FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) Violations

  • NY State Law Violations

  • Age, Sex, or Race Discrimination

  • Religious or Ethnic Discrimination

  • Sexual Harrassment

  • Discriminatory Termination

Wage Information

The Law:

Both Federal and New York State governments regulate labor law violations. 

Overtime

Under both New York and Federal Law, the employer is required to pay you time and a half (1.5) of your regular wage for every hour worked over eight (8) hours per day or forty (40) hours per week.

That means if you worked nine (11) hours in one day and receive ten dollars ($10) an hour, the employer is required to pay you fifteen dollars ($15) extra that day in addition to ninety dollars ($110) dollars that you receive in regular wage.

It also means that if you worked fifty five (55) hours per week and receive ten dollars ($10) an hour, the employer is required to pay you seventy five ($75) extra that week, in addition to five hundred fifty ($550) dollars that you receive in regular wage.

Minimum Wage

Generally, under Federal Law, until July of 2009 the employer was required to pay you $6.55 per hour, presently the employer is required to pay $7.25 an hour. There are some exceptions.

Generally, under New York State Law, the employer was required to pay you $7.15 an hour from 2007 until 2013; Presently your employer is required to pay you $8.00 an hour; $9.75 in 2015 and $9.00 in 2016. There are some exceptions.

It means that if the employer paid you less than these guidelines, you may recover the difference between what the employer was required to pay and what the employer actually paid.

Timing

There are time limits to bring the lawsuit

Federal Law

Generally, under the Federal Law, we have three years. It means that we can go back in time three years from today and recover what the employer owes you for that period only

New York State

Generally, under New York State Law, we have six years. It means that we can go back in time six years from today and recover what the employer owes you for that period only.

Thus, if you worked for longer than these periods, every day you wait, is a day for which you cannot recover anything anymore. That is why you cannot wait and have to call us now.

 


This is not a legal advice and the laws listed above are general outlines, subject to various exceptions. Additionally, the laws are subject to change. Please, consult with an attorney.



about us | personal injury | labor law | response form | FAQ | contact us | home

© 2007 Helen F. Dalton & Associates, All Rights Reserved. | Disclaimer
Designed by GraphicIQ